ACBL. Club game. EW established partnership A pair. S A player, N B+, newish partnership. Ruling director asked me later about my thoughts.
1NT announced as 11-14. 2♦ call not alerted. W asked and N said it was natural. Prior to calling, W sought the director away from the table, telling him she was sure there was misinformation. The director advised W to call based on the information that was provided by the opponents. If it turned out to be incorrect and EW was damaged, he could award an adjusted score. 2♥ went off 1 and the director was summoned back to the table. N agreed he had erred in his explanation and that their agreement was that 2♦ showed both majors. EW contended they could have found their ♦ part score with an accurate description and NS agreed. The director awarded an adjusted score of +110 for EW.
While I agree there was misinformation and damage, I disagree about the cause of the damage. To me, the damage seemed to have been caused by E continuing to bid. (While I take issue with his opening bid as well, that's not the subject of this post.) My experience with TDs - as an assistant TD, in consulting with more experienced TDs while working as an assistant, and in playing when MI occurs - is there is little sympathy for potentially damaged parties when they continue to bid into unknown territory. That's why I was inclined to have EW accept the table result. The table result is still better than par for EW, with most NS pairs finding their 10-card ♠ fit. Had E passed, NS playing 2♦ would have probably been off 4, a top for EW.
I would appreciate your thoughts. While L20-21 (and the outdated example in L75) are helpful in understanding the rule, they aren't helpful in applying them in specific scenarios.

 Help
 Help
 
			
		 
							  
								

 If EW pursue the MI question before bidding, and North becomes aware of the misexplanation, that knowledge is UI to him, so he is not permitted to bid 2
 If EW pursue the MI question before bidding, and North becomes aware of the misexplanation, that knowledge is UI to him, so he is not permitted to bid 2