• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Dummy's rights A TD question from real life bridge

#1 User is offline   eoika1782 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2014-January-19, 17:32

Hi all,
I hope this is the right place to ask this question.
I am studying to become a TD in real life and I have come across rule 42A1(b), which states that dummy should not draw attention to an irregularity during the play. I have done an exercise where the scenario is that dummy asks a defender whether he has run out of cards in a suit. The solution to the exercise says: if dummy makes an illegal enquiry of a defender, this is not a violation of 61B and does not cause a revoke to be established. Law 61B2(b) says: dummy may not ask a defender whether he has revoked.
It seems to me that both laws state that dummy should not draw attention to a potential revoke, so I don't understand how asking a defender if he has revoked does not constitute a violation of Law 61B.
Of course, once director is summoned and he sees the irregularity, he deals with it, but dummy should be given procedural penalty, no?

My numbering refers to the English Bridge Union laws.
I hope I am making sense!
thanks for helping

Laura

#2 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2014-January-21, 02:35

View Posteoika1782, on 2014-January-19, 17:32, said:

Hi all,
I hope this is the right place to ask this question.

I've moved this from the BBO Tournament Director's Forum to Laws and Rulings, as it is not about directing on BBO -- revokes are not possible in online bridge, so Laws about them are not relevant.

#3 User is offline   barmar 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Admin

Posted 2014-January-21, 02:41

Are you sure you read the solution correctly? You say that it's an "illegal enquiry" -- the reason that it's illegal is that it's a violation of 61B2b, so how can they then say that it's not a violation?