• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Modern Trend Question 1 takeout doubles

#21 User is offline   skjaeran 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Bridge, sports, Sci-fi, fantasy

Posted 2009-March-17, 14:01

All three looks like automatic doubles for me. And they have since I started playing more than 30 years ago.
Kind regards,
Harald

#22 User is online   mikeh 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, wine (red), cooking, reading eclectically but insatiably, travelling, making bad posts.

Posted 2009-March-17, 14:18

I'd say #1 and #2 werent popular doubles 30 years ago, in NA, but have been for at least 15 years.

I don't think you'd find universal support for them in most bidding panels, in part because many bidding panels have members whose main successes were 30+ years ago... roth, for example, was on the MSC panel for decades after he stopped serious competition.

I don't think that the current practice is based on the historical italian fondness for off-shape doubles... if memory served, the practice wasn't that successful for them: it was more that the seat-of-the-pants US habits back then were even worse.

I think the trend is simply part of the move to aggression in the bidding, in all aspects of the game. Indeed, offshape doubles are rendered more dangerous now, than they used to be, because advancer is now often faced with bids by responder, including preempts, when historically responder would pass.

So I don't think that we see more 'offshape' doubles, but I don't see 4333 as that 'offshape'... and a double of 1 on 4=4=2=3 may be offshape, but not in the sense of a 2=4=4=3 hand.
'one of the great markers of the advance of human kindness is the howls you will hear from the Men of God' Johann Hari

#23 User is offline   Bende 

• PipPipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2009-March-18, 03:53

MarkDean, on Mar 16 2009, 07:17 PM, said:

1. Kxx KQxx Axx Qxx / 1