• You cannot reply to this topic

RKC 1430 OR 0314

#1 User is offline   jillybean 

• hooked
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Multi

Posted 2023-January-27, 15:02

As you have probably heard, we have a wee bit more rain than normal here in NZ so I have more time to sit inside and think about bridge hands.

When I started playing RKC, my partner played 1430 so I simply adopted that, no questions asked.
When I do think about it, having 1(4) keycard is more likely than (0)3 and you now have 4 available to continue the slam try, as opposed to starting at 4 which is problematic if your trump suit is 's.

I know some have strong opinions, is it worth crowing about?
"And no matter what methods you play, it is essential, for anyone aspiring to learn to be a good player, to learn the importance of bidding shape properly." MikeH
(still learning)

#2 User is online   sfi 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2023-January-27, 15:20

View Postjillybean, on 2023-January-27, 15:02, said:

As you have probably heard, we have a wee bit more rain than normal here in NZ so I have more time to sit inside and think about bridge hands.

When I started playing RKC, my partner played 1430 so I simply adopted that, no questions asked.
When I do think about it, having 1(4) keycard is more likely than (0)3 and you now have 4 available to continue the slam try, as opposed to starting at 4 which is problematic if your trump suit is 's.

I know some have strong opinions, is it worth crowing about?

As you say, 1 keycard is more likely than 0 so you are more likely to be able to ask about the trump queen in auctions when you care about it. But this is only true when the suit is hearts, so the gains are real but kind of small.

I normally do whatever partner wants and don't worry too much about it - there are areas of the system I care more about. If I can't introduce Kickback I'd prefer partner plays something they're comfortable with.