• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Non-Natural System for beginners

#1 User is offline   pescetom 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2021-May-17, 13:16

As I mentioned in a recent discussion about the Vienna System of Paul Stern, a friend of mine has had success teaching absolute beginners a simple strong club system, rather than starting with "natural" 4-card majors or jumping in the deep end with 2/1.

I am curious to know the thoughts of our Non-Natural gurus on this: what would be an ideal system to get people started, making the auction relatively easy and allowing them to enjoy/concentrate playing a sensible contract?

#2 User is offline   mycroft 

• Secretary Bird

Posted 2021-May-17, 13:58

I normally suggest some basic Precision variant. It may not hit your pluses completely (after all, the basic keys are "5-card majors", "forcing 1NT", and "1 16+any"), but one of the issues with newer players is that all these great contracts they get to with system they're not capable of making reliably yet (which is independent of what system they play, I understand). In exchange, what you get is a system that a significant fraction of not-new players (those that play Precision themselves) can play. There simply isn't another Strong Club system any more you can say that about.

Now, if you're just interested in "non-'Natural' systems for beginners", there's a recommendation that bog-standard EHAA is almost as simple to understand for new players as it gets (but they *really* have to be comfortable with "large negative results" sometimes!)
When I go to sea, don't fear for me, Fear For The Storm -- Birdie and the Swansong (tSCoSI)

#3 User is offline   shyams 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2021-May-17, 14:32

I am with mycroft on this. Precision is a useful system for the given scenario.

#4 User is offline   pescetom 

Posted 2021-May-17, 15:03

View Postshyams, on 2021-May-17, 14:32, said: