Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Well, Happy New Year What is there to say

#1 User is offline   kenberg 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2022-January-02, 11:25

I wish everyone the best. Of course. Happy New Year.

That's the most downbeat HNY I have ever expressed. I have been mulling it all over, trying to figure out just where we are.

Growing up in the middle of the last century I studied mathematics and physics for the same reason that I rode my bicycle far and wide, and that was the same reason that I fished, played softball, and learned to water ski. These activities were interesting and they were fun. I doubt that I gave ten seconds of thought to how I should be helping the world. Helping my neighbors maybe, helping my friends sure, but the world? No.

I do not believe I am unusually selfish or self-centered, so I assume this way of living still describes most people today. But the world is a mess.

We need to work together a little better.

Ok, that's enough of that.
Happy New Year, and many more to come
Ken
Ken

#2 User is offline   Chas_P 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2022-January-02, 18:36

HNY to you and yours Prof. I agree with you that the whole world is in one mell of a hess. Hopefully happier days lie ahead.

Best wishes.

#3 User is offline   thepossum 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2022-January-02, 18:51

Happy New Year to you and yours Ken :)

As you correctly (IMO) opine the world is in a mess. Lets hope for better. Can't do much worse can we

#4 User is offline   y66 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2022-January-03, 15:11

We got 8+ inches of snow here in the DC metro area today. Now the sun is out and we're enjoying a glorious late afternoon. And I say it's alright. Happy belated new year.
If you lose all hope, you can always find it again -- Richard Ford in The Sportswriter

#5 User is offline   y66 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip