It seems likely that England received the World Cup because
Kumar Dharmasena
Marais Erasmus
Rod Tucker &
Ranjan Madugalle
were unaware of Law 19.8
Discuss
						
						
						
					
					
				
		
	Page 1 of 1
			
	
Law 19.8
				
						#3
						
								 
							  
								
						
					
				
				Posted 2019-July-16, 06:15
 pran, on 2019-July-16, 05:29, said:
pran, on 2019-July-16, 05:29, said:
And what is Law 19.8 ?
Rule 19.8: Overthrow or wilful act of fielder
If the boundary results from an overthrow or from the wilful act of a fielder, the runs scored shall be
— any runs for penalties awarded to either side
— and the allowance for the boundary
— and the runs completed by the batsmen, together with the run in progress if they had already crossed at the instant of the throw or act.
				
						#4
						
								 
							  
								
						
					
				
				Posted 2019-July-16, 09:22
						Why are we talking about cricket? (I had to google one of the names in the OP to find out what sport this was.)
						
						
						
					
					
				
				
						#6
						
								 
							  
								
						
					
				
				Posted 2019-July-16, 11:21
 shevek, on 2019-July-16, 05:04, said:
shevek, on 2019-July-16, 05:04, said:
It seems likely that England received the World Cup because
Kumar Dharmasena
Marais Erasmus
Rod Tucker &
Ranjan Madugalle
were unaware of Law 19.8
Discuss
Kumar Dharmasena
Marais Erasmus
Rod Tucker &
Ranjan Madugalle
were unaware of Law 19.8
Discuss
Actually I think it was very unlikely it changed the result. My suspicion is that instead of premeditating to bunt the final pie bowled by Boult (and I don't think that would have changed, he went for a Yorker and missed it) for a single to try to ensure the tie and hope to run a second, whoever faced it would have hit it for 4 or 6 if they needed more than 1.
	
	Page 1 of 1
	
	

 Help
 Help

