North asked the meaning of 2N, and East had a momentary brain fart, and said transfer to ♠ (rather than ♦), and then proceeded to bid 3♠.
EW system has the ability to show "liking for ♦", usually Hxx, or not.
And West has a hand where she'll bid a thin 3N if partner "likes ♦", and will probably pass if partner denies Hxx in their suit.
After East describes the transfer as ♠, and bids 3♠ is West not constrained in her next action?
ie Should West pass 3♠?
Or can she try 3N in hope this might be a better spot in case their partner just has a doubleton or 3 card ♠.
How do you rule if NS call you?