• 3 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Providing evidence of agreements

#1 User is offline   mr1303 

• Admirer of Walter the Walrus
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members
  • Interests:Bridge, surfing, water skiing, cricket, golf. Generally being outside really.

Posted 2009-December-07, 18:47

There have been a number of recent posts about directors not believing a player's description of their agreements without documented evidence to back this information up.

I play 2 nights a week. With both my partners our discussion about system is limited to what we discuss as we play, and it is never written down (mostly because I made a conscious decision a few years ago to escape from "serious" bridge).

Admittedly some of it is a bit non-mainstream, but it is still our partnership agreement.

I don't see why this should be an issue. I'm not a bridge professional, and have a job, a social life outside of bridge and other interests outside of bridge. Why should I be penalised for this?

#2 User is offline   jdonn 

• - - T98765432 AQT8
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip

Posted 2009-December-07, 18:53

Why should an opponent be penalized because you (generic you, not you in particular) lie to the director and he takes your word for it?

Unfortunately you can't have it both ways. It's the same with hesitations. Breaking tempo is not illegal, but it may make an action I want to take illegal even if I know it's what I would always have done.

For better or for worse, the laws of bridge are very far from innocent unless proven guilty. In some cases they are in fact much closer to guilty unless proven innocent.
Please let me know about any questions or interest or bug reports about GIB.

#3 User is offline   bluejak 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge Laws, Cats, Railways, Transport timetables

Posted 2009-December-08, 02:32